top of page
  • X
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube

Cyber cognitive threat seminar

PITCH

Understand disinformation actions through an interdisciplinary vision of digital human vulnerabilities

 

“A phase of aggression against European countries through actions of disinformation but also cyber attacks, on a scale and with crossings of thresholds which change its nature and hardening in its country, in a few weeks, of an electoral deadline where, basically, a form of impunity has taken hold. » Mr. President of the Republic, Emmanuel Macron. Press conference with Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky, February 16, 2024[1].

For four years, the seminar on cognitive threats in cyberspace has been offering an understanding of disinformation actions through an interdisciplinary vision of digital human vulnerabilities.

On February 16, 2024, the President of the Republic, Emmanuel Macron received the Ukrainian President in Paris. During this conference, the intensification of disinformation actions carried out against Europe and more particularly against France was recalled. The year 2024 already has two conflicts (in Ukraine and Gaza) but also two important elections (the European elections and the American presidential election) without forgetting the Paris Olympic Games. These events constitute opportunities for digital actors to carry out disinformation actions against European countries and even beyond.

The 2024 session on cognitive threats in cyberspace will analyze these attacks from three different but complementary axes.

• 1st topic: analysis of online discourse through the analysis of the narratives of the modes of propagation of information

The four speakers will develop the types of narratives used by digital actors to animate audiences with a view to carrying out digital and/or physical actions. This involves understanding the semantic and visual levers used by digital actors during disinformation campaigns in order to detect them and be able to propose appropriate protection measures.

• 2nd topic: operationalization of digital human vulnerabilities To understand the virality and scope of narratives

The four speakers will present the processing of information on a cognitive level. They will first focus on presenting the psychological traits of the digital actors behind these attacks in order to understand their specificities. The identification of cognitive biases and the automatic patterns used against audiences targeted by these actors will make it possible to understand part of the modes of action implemented during informational attacks.

  • 3rd topic : feedback from influence operations carried out (particularly in Ukraine)

To facilitate understanding of the principles announced during the first 2 axes, the three speakers will endeavor to present concrete cases of the techniques mentioned above in order to highlight the operational effects of the latter.

 

[1] https://www.elysee.fr/emmanuel-macron/2024/02/16/visite-de-volodymyr-zelensky-president-de-lukraine

PROGRAM

Program to come.

bottom of page

top of page
  • X
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube

Cyber cognitive threat seminar

PITCH

Comprendre les actions de désinformation au travers d’une vision interdisciplinaire des vulnérabilités humaines numériques


« Une phase d'agression à l'égard des pays européens par des actions de désinformation mais aussi d'attaques cyber, à une échelle et avec des franchissements de seuils qui en changent la nature et de durcissement dans son pays, à quelques semaines, d'une échéance électorale où, au fond, une forme d'impunité s'est installée. »

Monsieur le Président de la République, Emmanuel Macron.

Conférence de presse avec le Président ukrainien, Volodymyr Zelensky, le 16 février 2024[1].


Le séminaire sur les menaces cognitives du cyberespace propose depuis quatre ans de comprendre les actions de désinformation au travers d’une vision interdisciplinaire des vulnérabilités humaines numériques.


Le 16 février 2024, le Président de la République, Emmanuel Macron recevait le Président ukrainien à Paris. Lors de cette conférence, il a été rappelé l’intensification des actions de désinformation menées contre l’Europe et plus particulièrement contre la France. L’année 2024 compte déjà deux conflits (en Ukraine et à Gaza) mais aussi deux élections importantes (les élections européennes et l’élection présidentielle américaine) sans oublier les Jeux Olympiques de Paris. Ces évènements constituent des opportunités pour des acteurs numériques de mener des actions de désinformation contre les pays européens voire au-delà.


La session 2024 sur les menaces cognitives du cyberespace analysera ces attaques sous trois axes différents mais complémentaires.

  • 1er axe : analyse du discours en ligne au travers de l’analyse des narratifs des modes de propagation des informations

Les quatre intervenants développeront les types de narratifs, employés par des acteurs numériques pour animer des auditoires en vue de mener des actions numériques et/ou physiques. Il s’agit de comprendre quels sont les leviers sémantiques et visuels employés par les acteurs numériques lors des campagnes de désinformation afin de les détecter et de pouvoir proposer des mesures de protection adaptées.

  • 2e axe : opérationnalisation des vulnérabilités humaines numériques

Pour comprendre la viralité et la portée des narratifs, les quatre intervenants présenteront le traitement de l’information sur le plan cognitif. Ils s’attacheront d’abord à présenter quels peuvent être les traits psychologiques des acteurs numériques à l’origine de ces attaques afin d’en comprendre les spécificités. L’identification des biais cognitifs et les schémas automatiques employés contre des auditoires ciblés par ces acteurs permettront de saisir une partie des modes d’actions mis en œuvre lors des attaques informationnelles.


  • 3e axe : retour d’expérience des opérations d’influence menées (notamment en Ukraine)

Pour faciliter la compréhension des principes annoncés au cours des 2 premiers axes, les trois intervenants s’attacheront à présenter des cas concrets des techniques mentionnées précédemment afin de souligner les effets opérationnels de ces dernières.




[1] https://www.elysee.fr/emmanuel-macron/2024/02/16/visite-de-volodymyr-zelensky-president-de-lukraine

PROGRAMME

Programme à venir.

bottom of page