27th C&ESAR

CONFERENCE

Every year since 1997, the French Ministry of Defense has organized a cybersecurity event to bring together governmental, industrial, and academic stakeholders. This event, both educational and scientific, gathers experts, researchers, practitioners and decision-makers in order to explore an important topic within the field of cybersecurity. This inter-disciplinary approach allows operational practitioners to learn about and anticipate future technological inflexion points, and for industry and academia to confront research and product development to operational realities. Conference occurs during European Cyber Week (ECW).

 

 

The 27th C&ESAR conference theme will be Deceptive security

 

Cybersecurity has developed over the past fifteen years in response to the increasing aggressiveness of computer attacks. The rise of cyberspace is inherent in the explosion in the need for services and communications and therefore speed and new technologies. Built on a pragmatic basis to provide new products, cyberspace has reached a level of complexity that is difficult to master. This situation gave a preponderant advantage to the attackers who knew how to transform an imperfection into a breach and then into attack scenarios for hostile ends. The IT security response has evolved from deep static protection to resilient detection, and now for considering the logic of dynamic counterattacks. The time scale between the occurrence of an attack, its detection and its elimination is an important characteristic: from an indefinite duration to a few days, then from a few days to a few hours, the challenge now consists in acting in real time against the attacker. Digital deception is at the heart of this cybersecurity strategy. The aim is to return the attacker's weapons, seeking to deceive him and dissuade him from been discovered. Digital deception is part of cyber deterrence.

Call for papers is now open until June 26th 2020!

CALL FOR PAPERS

 

Defensive lure arsenal has historically relied on honeypots. These statically analyzed the deviation of components compared to a known and healthy behavior. This generation has encountered two pitfalls: scalabity to cover diversity and complexity of digital systems, and excessive false positives. Honeypots evolve to become active traps disseminated in the real environment to understand better attacker’s strategies. Decoy deployment architectures specialize according to application (information systems, industrial systems, finance, medical, etc.), to the components targeted by the attacks (servers, firewalls, antivirus, etc.) or to the offensive load (malware, etc.). Lures tend to generate real positives in real time. Their effectiveness relies on two properties, one inherent in security components, non-compromise, and the other characteristic of attack: stealth.

This new generation of digital decoys consolidates investigations within security operational centers (SOC). Thus, logics of deductive (deterministic) or inductive (hypothetical) reasoning confront each other to characterize attackers' operating mode by tightening it up to attack attribution.

However, its active behavior raises regulatory issues (privacy).

Digital decoy becomes an essential component of defensive activities in cybersecurity, because it contributes to efficiency of response scenarios.

C&ESAR 2020 program committee will appreciate submissions in the following areas:

– Tools for deceptive security : honeypots, lures, traps – decoy deployment architectures

– Specialized decoy for services, for security, against malware ...

– Digital decoy properties: non-compromise, stealth...

– Forensics : deductive / inductive reasoning, attacks characterization, attribution ...

– Security Operational Center : deceptive security in escalation scenarios

– Decoys and attack models (MITRE ATT@CK ...), contribution to characterization (CAPEC …), to knowledge of cyber risk (cyber threat intelligence - CTI)

– Decoy and regulation (privacy, NIS Directive…).

IMPORTANT DATES

Submission of the proposals (long absracts between 3 to 6 pages) : June 26th 

Notification to authors : September 3rd

Final version (8 to 16 pages) : October 2nd

Conference : Novembre 17-18

C&ESAR PROGRAMME COMMITTEE

Erwan ABGRALL (MINARM)
José ARAUJO (ANSSI)
Christophe BIDAN (CentraleSupélec)
Yves CORREC (ARCSI)
Frédéric CUPPENS (IMT Atlantique)
Herve DEBAR (Télécom SudParis)
Eric DUPUIS (Orange)
Guillaume DUVEAU (MINARM)
Ivan FONTARENSKY (THALES)
Patrick HEBRARD (NAVAL Group)
Sylvain LAFARGUE (SAFRAN)
Benoît MARTIN (DGA)
Guillaume MEIER (AIRBUS)
Ludovic PIETRE-CAMBACEDES (EDF)
Assia TRIA (CEA)
Eric WIATROWSKI (Orange)

 

ORGANISED BY

logoARMÉESCYBER.jpg
DGA.jpg

IN PARTNERSHIP WITH

logo CESIN.png

RECEIVE OUR NEWSLETTERS

Sign up so you don't miss any news from European Cyber Week

En s'abonnant à la newsletter, l'utilisateur autorise le partage de son email avec les organisateurs de la ECW. Hopscotch Congrès s'engage à ne pas utiliser votre adresse email hors du cadre de la European Cyber Week ainsi qu'à ne pas la transmettre à des tiers.
/
By subscribing to the newsletter, you agree to share your email address with the organizers. Hopscotch Congrès will not communicate / spread / publish or otherwise give away your address outside ECW organization.

NEXT EDITION IN :

EUROPEAN CYBER WEEK 2020

ecw@hopscotchcongres.com

  • Gris Icône YouTube
  • Gris LinkedIn Icône
  • Grey Twitter Icon

27e CONFERENCE

C&ESAR

Organisée depuis 1997 par le ministère des Armées, la conférence C&ESAR, est un colloque annuel dédié à la cybersécurité. Il réunit les acteurs gouvernementaux, industriels et académiques dans une approche interdisciplinaire, permettant aux industriels et aux scientifiques de confronter la recherche et le développement aux réalités opérationnelles et aux utilisateurs d’étudier et d’anticiper les avancées technologiques. Depuis 5 ans, C&ESAR constitue le pilier des conférences de la European Cyber Week (ECW).


 

La 27e conférence C&ESAR traitera en 2020 du Leurrage numérique

La cybersécurité s’est développée depuis une quinzaine d’années en réponse à l’agressivité croissante des attaques informatiques. L’essor du cyberespace est inhérent à l’explosion des besoins de services et de communications et donc de débits et de nouvelles technologies. Construit sur une base pragmatique pour offrir rapidement de nouveaux produits, le cyberespace a atteint un niveau de complexité difficilement maîtrisable. Cette situation a donné un avantage prépondérant aux attaquants qui ont su transformer une imperfection en faille puis en scénarios d’attaque pour des finalités hostiles. La réponse de la sécurité informatique a entre-temps évolué d’une protection statique en profondeur, vers une détection résiliente pour désormais envisager des logiques de contre-attaques dynamiques. L’échelle de temps entre l’occurrence d’une attaque, sa détection et son élimination est un marquant significatif : d’une durée indéterminée à quelques jours, puis de jours à quelques heures, l’enjeu est maintenant d’agir en temps réel contre l’attaquant. Le leurrage numérique se trouve au cœur de cette stratégie de la cybersécurité. Il s’agit de retourner les armes de l’attaquant en cherchant à le tromper et au final à le dissuader de prendre le risque d’être découvert. Le leurrage numérique relève de la dissuasion cyber.

L'appel à communication est à présent ouvert jusqu'au 26 juin 2020 !

APPEL A COMMUNICATION

 

L’arsenal du leurrage défensif est historiquement basé sur les pots de miel (honeypots). Ceux-ci reposaient sur l’analyse statique d’écart de composants par rapport à un comportement connu et sain. Cette génération s’est heurtée à deux écueils : le passage à l’échelle pour couvrir la diversité et la complexité des systèmes numériques, et la génération excessive de faux positifs. Les honeypots évoluent pour devenir des pièges actifs qui sont disséminés dans l’environnement réel pour mieux cerner les stratégies de l’attaquant. Les architectures de déploiement des leurres se spécialisent selon le domaine d’application (systèmes d’information, systèmes industriels, finance, médical…) ou en fonction des composants ciblés par les attaques (serveurs, pare-feu, antivirus…) ou encore par rapport à la charge offensive (malwares…). Les leurres tendent à générer de vrais positifs en temps réel. Leur efficacité repose sur deux propriétés, l’une inhérente aux composants de sécurité, la non-compromission, et l’autre caractéristique de l’attaque : la furtivité.

Cette nouvelle génération de leurres numériques enrichit les stratégies d’investigations au sein des centres opérationnels de sécurité (SOC). Ainsi, des logiques de raisonnements déductifs (déterministes) ou inductifs (hypothétiques) se confrontent pour caractériser finement le mode opératoire des attaquants en le resserrant si possible jusqu’à l’attribution de l’attaque.

Cependant, son caractère actif soulève des interrogations réglementaires (respect de la vie privée).
Le leurrage numérique devient une composante essentielle de la lutte informatique défensive, car il contribue à l’efficience des scénarios de ripostes et d’escalade.

Le comité de programme de la conférence C&ESAR 2020 attend des propositions de communication en matière de recherche, d’expérimentation et de solutions émergentes sur :

    • Leurrage numérique : honeypots, leurres, pièges

    • Architectures de déploiement de leurres selon les domaines d’application

    • Spécialisation de leurres pour les services, pour la sécurité, contre les malwares…

    • Propriétés du leurrage numérique : non-compromission, furtivité…

    • Apport à l’investigation numérique : raisonnements déductifs/inductifs, caractérisation des attaques, attribution…

    • Contribution à la lutte informatique défensive : scénarios de ripostes et d’escalade.

    • Positionnement du leurrage dans les modèles d’attaques (MITRE ATT@CK…), par rapport à la caractérisation des attaques (CAPEC…) et plus généralement son apport à la connaissance du risque cyber (cyber threat intelligence – CTI)

    • Leurrage et réglementation (NIS, RGPD…)

 

 

 

DATES IMPORTANTES

Propositions de communications (entre 3 et 6 pages) : 26 juin 2020

Notification aux auteurs : 3 septembre 2020

Version finale (entre 8 et 16 pages) : 2 octobre 2020

Conférence : 17 et 18 novembre 2020

COMITE DE PROGRAMME C&ESAR

 

Erwan ABGRALL (MINARM)
José ARAUJO (ANSSI)
Christophe BIDAN (CentraleSupélec)
Yves CORREC (ARCSI)
Frédéric CUPPENS (IMT Atlantique)
Herve DEBAR (Télécom SudParis)
Eric DUPUIS (Orange)
Guillaume DUVEAU (MINARM)
Ivan FONTARENSKY (THALES)
Patrick HEBRARD (NAVAL Group)
Sylvain LAFARGUE (SAFRAN)
Benoît MARTIN (DGA)
Guillaume MEIER (AIRBUS)
Ludovic PIETRE-CAMBACEDES (EDF)
Assia TRIA (CEA)
Eric WIATROWSKI (Orange)

 

ORGANISé par

logoARMÉESCYBER.jpg
DGA.jpg

EN PARTENARIAT AVEC

logo CESIN.png

RECEVEZ LES NEWSLETTERS

Inscrivez-vous pour ne manquer aucune actualité de la European Cyber Week

En s'abonnant à la newsletter, l'utilisateur autorise le partage de son email avec les organisateurs de la ECW. Hopscotch Congrès s'engage à ne pas utiliser votre adresse email hors du cadre de la European Cyber Week ainsi qu'à ne pas la transmettre à des tiers.
/
By subscribing to the newsletter, you agree to share your email address with the organizers. Hopscotch Congrès will not communicate / spread / publish or otherwise give away your address outside ECW organization.

PROCHAINE EDITION DANS :

EUROPEAN CYBER WEEK 2020

ecw@hopscotchcongres.com

  • Gris Icône YouTube
  • Gris LinkedIn Icône
  • Grey Twitter Icon